*Please note change in deadline of submissions. Now February 15.

The Margaret Mead Award


Margaret Mead, for years among the best known women in the world, was also the best known anthropologist, with a particular talent for bringing anthropology fully into the light of public attention. The Margaret Mead Award, initiated by the Society for Applied Anthropology in 1979, and awarded jointly with the American Anthropological Society since 1983, continues to celebrate the tradition of bringing anthropology to bear on wider social and cultural issues.

The Margaret Mead Award is presented to a younger scholar for a particular accomplishment such as a book, film, monograph, or service, which interprets anthropological data and principles in ways that make them meaningful and accessible to a broadly concerned public. The award is designed to recognize a person clearly associated with research and/or practice in anthropology. The awardee's activity will exemplify skills in broadening the impact of anthropology -- skills for which Margaret Mead was admired widely.


Nominations and Eligibility

Nominees for the 2020 award must have received the Ph.D. degree after January 1, 2010 (ten years or less ago). Each application must include the nominee's curriculum vitae, two letters of recommendation* describing the accomplishment and documenting its impact on relevant publics beyond the discipline, and five copies of the book or film. 

*Can not be from the publisher or the author.

Nominees' contributions will be judged using the following criteria:

(1) intellectual quality

(2) clarity and understandability

(3) the extent or depth of impact and

(4) breadth of impact.

The selection committee consists of two persons appointed by the Society for Applied Anthropology and two persons appointed by the American Anthropological Association.

Please send nominations and five copies of supporting materials to the Margaret Mead Selection Committee at the following address:

Society for Applied Anthropology
3000 United Founders Blvd Ste 102G
Oklahoma City, OK 73112

Phone: (405) 843-5113
FAX (405) 843-8553
E-mail info@sfaa.net.

Deadline for receipt of materials is February 15. Supporting material will not be returned.

The 2020 Award winner will be announced during the 2020 Annual Meeting of the American Anthropological Association. Presentation of the Award plaque and stipend will be made jointly by the SfAA and AAA during the Annual Meeting of the Society for Applied Anthropology in Spring 2021.

Previous Recipients